According to the Constitution of the United States, the federal government is divided into three different branches to facilitate balance and that a central government wherein no individual or a group will have to much control.

  1. Legislative – the Congress, people who makes laws
  2. Executive – President, Vice President and the Cabinet; people who make sure the laws are carried out
  3. Judicial – Supreme Court and Other Courts; people who evaluates the laws

Each of the three branches can change acts of other branches as follows:

  • Laws passed in Congress can be veto by the president
  • In exceptional circumstances, the Congress can remove the president from office and they can reject of confirm appointment’s made by the president
  • Unconstitutional Laws overturned by the justices of the Supreme Court can wither be appointed by the president and should be confirmed by the Senate

The actions by the U.S. Federal Government and the system of checks and balances are for the best interest of the citizens

Legislative Branch

Branch of the government in charge of legislation, they can confirm or reject appointments made by the president and they have the authority to declare war

Included in this branch are the Congress (Senates and House of Representatives) and other agencies that work in relation to the Congress. U.S. Citizens have the right to choose and vote for senators and representatives via free and confidential ballots.

  • Senate – there are 100 senators with 2 senators elected per state. Can serve an unlimited six year terms.
  • House of Representatives – there are 435 elected representatives and they are divided among the 50 states depending on the population of each state. There are non-voting delegates in addition that represent the District of Columbia and its territories. Can serve an unlimited two year terms.

Executive Branch

The executive branch carries out and enforces the laws; here are the key roles and responsibilities:

  • President –the leader of the country, head of states, leader of the federal government and the commander-in-chief of the military services. Serves a four year term and can only be elected a maximum of two times.
  • Vice President– supports the president and acts as the president if the president is unable. Can serve an unlimited number of four year terms.
  • The Cabinet – includes the vice president and the different heads of the executive departments. They function as advisors to the president. They are appointed by the resident but should be confirmed by the Senate with at least 51 votes.

Judicial Branch

The judicial branch interprets the laws, applies it to individual cases and determines violations in the Constitution.

  • Supreme Court– the highest court in the country with the justices nominated by the president and approved by the Senate. The Congress decides the number of justices with no fixed term. They can serve until their death, retirement or removal in exceptional circumstances.
  • Other Federal Courts– the Congress is authorized by the Constitution o establish other federal courts.